A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan, narrated by Kate Reading

At the end of last year, I started a series which I think could be a new favourite: the Memoirs of Lady Trent series. I had downloaded the audiobook for A Natural History of Dragons to keep me company during a period where I would be doing a lot of travelling for work and, although I was expecting to enjoy it, I was surprised by just how much I loved it. I found it to be an absorbing and unique read, with an engaging protagonist and a surprisingly action-packed plot for the writing style. I am really looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

A Natural History of Dragons is the first instalment in a series of fictional memoirs written by the protagonist, Isabella, Lady Trent. Writing as a now older woman and a famed dragon naturalist, Isabella has decided to write her memoirs to reveal the truths about her expeditions and discoveries. In this first instalment, she is covering her childhood interest in science, her marriage, and her first opportunity to join an expedition to study dragons. As the reader follows Isabella through this first instalment, they are given insight into more than just the study of dragons as she explores the expectations of being a woman interested in science in a society where that is frowned upon; her relationship with her husband; grief and mental health; and many more very personal themes.

With a series such as the Memoirs of Lady Trent, it is really important that the reader is engaged with the protagonist and Lady Trent definitely fills that role well. She has a unique and clearly defined narrative voice, full of wit and sarcasm alongside a straightforward way of describing things. I really enjoyed her asides to the reader, particularly the instances where she steps in as an older woman looking back on her younger self. Her determination to pursue her dreams of studying dragons despite the constant opposition she faces from the society around her makes her extremely sympathetic, and it is hard not to root for her in the fact of adversity.

The first section of the narrative, detailing Isabella’s early life, is a little slower than the rest of the book, but allows Brennan to set a firm foundation for the character of her protagonist. It is from Part Two onwards, which details the expedition to Vystrana, that the action starts to pick up and from there it is an absorbing and sometimes tense narrative as they find themselves disturbing a dangerous plot. I found the mysteries surrounding the behaviour of the dragons and villagers interesting and the climax to the narrative to be full of emotion.

Overall, this was a really fun and engaging read that has me really looking forward to continuing on in the series. I am excited to see where Isabella’s future journeys take her, especially some of the events that have already been alluded to in this first instalment. I have already picked up The Tropic of Serpents second-hand, so I am hoping that it will not be too long before I am reading more of this world. I would definitely recommend this for any fans of fantasy, as well as anyone who thinks they would enjoy a combination of Sarah Perry’s The Essex Serpent and Susanna Clarke’s Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell. This could well be a new favourite series of mine and I am excited to see where it goes in the future.

One thought on “A Natural History of Dragons

Leave a comment