Or, an updated ‘To Read’ list.

It’s that time of year when I forget everything that has previously been on my TBR list and get distracted by the shiny new books I’ve acquired during my visit home. Some of these have been acquired as Christmas gifts, whilst others have been lent by family members who thought I would enjoy them. Also, at least one I just found on the bookshelf of my childhood bedroom; no idea who it belongs to, but I’m taking it.

Here are the books you can expect to hear more about in the coming few months:


Currently Reading: A Place of Greater Safety by Hilary Mantel
I started reading this on Christmas Eve, as my Aunt brought it with her to lend to me. It’s a hefty book, all about Revolutionary France, and I’ve been making good headway through it. I did a module on Revolutionary France in my first year of university, when I took history as a minor, but I didn’t even remember enough to realise that two of the three main characters were key figures in the Revolution.

 
Letters of Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Volumes I and II, ed. FGK (?)
I love Elizabeth Barrett Browning. I love reading letters. Two summers ago, I spent the whole family holiday engrossed in the letters between Barrett Browning and Robert Browning and got banned from reading out my favourite quotes constantly by the rest of the family. So I was very excited to get both these volumes of EBB’s letters this Christmas. My family won’t have to suffer through my excitement this time, but my housemate might!

 
The Penguin Book of the British Short Story, Volume I, ed. Philip Hensherr
I had to be stopped from going on a literary tangent when I opened this present. I’ve flicked through both volumes of this in the shop and was so interested to see how the British Short Story had developed over the years. I can’t wait to start making my way through this first volume, which runs from Daniel Defoe to John Buchan.

 
Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith
I don’t regularly read crime fiction, but I have been really enjoying Rowling’s Cormoron Strike series. Rowling will always be good at creating an engaging, immersive world with interesting characters, and I’ve found to hold true in her detective novels. I’m looking forward to getting stuck into this.

 
The Long Song by Andrea Levy
This was on the bookshelf in my old room, so it’s fair game. Andrea Levy has been recommended to me many times before, so I’m interested to see what her writing is like.

 
On The Road by Jack Kerouac
My Dad got the film adaptation of this for Christmas, and he was surprised I had never read any Kerouac before. Everything I’ve heard about Kerouac makes me think I might not enjoy his writing, but I want to at least give it a try!

 
Adaptations 
I also received some adaptations I’m looking forward to watching: the BBC’s Wolf Hall series, the film adaptation of The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared, and the Extended Edition of The Hobbit : Battle of the Five Armies.
As a family, we went to see the musical adaptation of Matilda, which was very cleverly done. The songs were not particularly memorable, but I did think the way they adaptated the story was great.

One thought on “Christmas Gifts and Family Swaps

Leave a Reply

